Countdown- Beyonce

Part 3 of the Beyonce series and it’s time for my favorite song off 4! I’ve had this on repeat since the album came out and still listen to it.  I was expecting something totally different when I heard she was doing a video for “Countdown,” but the more I watch this, the more it grows on me.  If I recall, she described this song in an interview as a mishmash of different genres and this video is kinda the same thing- a mishmash of decades and styles.

We get introduced to Audrey Hepburn-Beyonce from the 50’s. Not quite the first reference I have in mind when listening to the song, but if it’s what she imagines when she sings it….

And quickly, at the time this video was released, the cat comes further out of the bag when in this mod cutout jumpsuit when Bey turns and you see baby Jayonce (I think that’s what people are calling him/her) who will be cooler, more talented and richer than any of us will ever be right out the womb.

 And here we begin the American Apparel takeover.  I remember reading on a blog that Beyonce came into an American Apparel store in New York with her stylist and bought those sheer button-down shirts you will see later on in every color.  Lo and behold, here they are in this video with basically the rest of the American Apparel catalogue.

A leotard in every color.  Anything that comes in that many colors probably is from American Apparel.

Then we get into some other setting that has nothing to do with where we were before that reminds me of Fame.

More American Apparel and the beginning of the rainbow of button-downs.

Then, we return to this Fame-like place where apparently Beyonce “stole” the whole routine from a Belgian choreographer.  C’mon, you don’t think someone with international recognition like Beyonce would blatantly plagiarize someone else’s work and hope no one notices? No. They full well knew what they were doing.  I think they could have mentioned when the video was announced that it was inspired by the original video but whatever the lady who choreographed it got her credit anyways from the hoopla this incident made.

But I digress. Back to the clothes- what’s with the random silver dress that appears near the end of the video? They really took this mishmash theme all the way.

Confession: I was a bit disappointed by this video when it came out but I love that she had a completely original style and concept. Plus, that Bey shops at American Apparel too.  She did say that this song was a hit with the hipsters.  Always thinking about her fans.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment